MONROE — State Senator Todd Johnson, who represents the majority of Union County, will co-chair two committees and serve on four others; he was appointed by N.C. State President Pro Temper Phil Berger for the current biennium (Long and Short sessions).

The N.C. General Assembly announced Johnson’s appointments on Thursday (Jan. 7).

Johnson has been assigned to co-chair Commerce and Insurance and co-chair Appropriations on Ag/NER. He will also be a member of four other committees: Transportation, Finance, Health Care and Rules.

The N.C. General Assembly will formally convene on Wednesday, Jan. 13, at noon.

“I remain grateful for the trust and confidence of Union County citizens have given me,” Johnson said in a statement. “While the challenges of 2020 still remain with us, so does North Carolina’s strong economic policies and leadership that will continue moving North Carolina forward.”

Johnson, a Republican, represents District 35. On Jan. The State Senator just started his second term, which ends Dec. 31, 2022. Johnson was re-elected last November with 63.4% of the votes (75,055), defeating Democratic candidate Jose Santiago (43,244 votes).

In his first term, Johnson served on four committees: Pensions and Retirement on Aging, Appropriations on Education/Higher Education, Commerce and Insurance and Education/Higher Education, according to

Johnson can be contacted by email at or by phone at (919) 733-7659.