MONROE — Four leaders were elected to the board of directors for the Community Shelter of Union County at its annual meeting recently.

Joining the board for three-year terms are Brian Bednar, president of Birdseye Renewable Energy; William Kilgo, safety and security director at SPCC; Robert Pendleton, self-employed counselor at Helpers One To Another; and Tiffany Wilson, attorney at Wilson Law Firm.

“We appreciate these leaders dedicating their personal time to help our neighbors experiencing hunger and homelessness,” said CEO Melissa McKeown in a statement. “Our board is a hands-on board so they are making a true commitment of their time and talents.”

Four current board members accepted an additional term on the board: Lynda Keziah, Jesse Milliken of Harmony Wealth Group, Laura Montemurro of Atlantic Pinstriping & Vehicle Wraps and Laverne White of Aramark.

Board officers were re-elected for another year: Penny Hefner of Sodoma Law Union was re-elected board chair; Jackson Hargett of Hargett Electric, vice-chair; Milliken, treasurer, and White was re-elected secretary.

Four board members completed their board service as their multiple terms ended: George Howard, Candice Sturdivant and Ellen Vilas all served three terms, while John Schooley served two terms.

For more information on the Shelter, make a donation or become involved, visit